• Quantcast

Canning Raspberry Jam (or is it jelly?)

I love raspberries…..fresh from the bush or baked in a pie, I love all forms of the fruit.  When I found out that a local apple orchard has a “pick your own” option for raspberries, I was determined to get there before the raspberry season was over.

Lucky for me, it was Labor Day weekend and I had “labor” available in the form of a couple of friends who had decided to come down and visit for the weekend (no, they did not know the had become pickers before they decided to visit).

So, when they arrived, we got into the car and headed out to the orchard.  I walked away with a peck and a half of apples (I will be blogging all about my apples on a guest post for Leftovers for Lunch in early October!), homemade cider donuts, caramel apples, and twenty little pint boxes to go fill with raspberries.

Yes, you read that correctly…..20 pints.  No, I did not have a plan for 20 pints of raspberries at the time.  BUT, I knew that if I wanted to enjoy their goodness this winter I had to find a way to preserve them.

You are probably thinking to yourself “but by the title of this post, it appears you just made jam out of the raspberries”.  Guess what?  You are right!  However, along with the jam, I did also preserve a few of the burgundy beauties for this winter to use in other recipes I have in mind.

Today, however, I wanted to walk you through my experiences canning (and jam nonetheless) for the very first time in my life!

The first step — figuring out if this stuff is “jam” or “jelly”.  I definitely debated on this topic for a while.  What I ended up making is jam…..jam is made up of the crushed version of the fruit (for instance, my raspberry concotion includes bits of seeds and raspberries directly in the spread).  Jelly is typically a clear, bright product as it is made from the juice of a fruit.  There….problem solved!

Once I had determined I was making jam, I had to figure out what in the world to do (in case you missed it above, I mentioned this was my first time canning and canning jam at that).

I, of course, hit up my favorite website (PickYourOwn.org) for help.  This page here on their website walks you through (essentially) the steps that I took.  Along with the directions from this website and the directions from the box of pectin, I was all set.

Wait, pectin?  What is that?!?!  Pectin is a powdered form of what is extracted from citrus fruits and it is what causes your jams and jellies to thicken, or harden.  Upon further research, I found that you can buy many different forms of pectin (in your local grocers canning section).  Some pectins allow you to use less, or no sugar, in your jams.  In this case, I had the form of pectin that you needed to add sugar to for it to work (so please keep this in mind as you pursue your own jam adventure).

One of the first things you need to do for any canning project is prepare your jars and rings.  Personally, I washed them all by hand then put them into the canner which I had started boiling the water in.  I let the jars and rings hang out in the canner until I was ready to pull them out to fill them.

DO NOT put the lids in the canner (especially not for this long).  The “glue” on the lids will essentially disintegrate and you will note be able to form a seal on your jars.  When it comes time to sterilize the lids, I take a couple cups of the boiling water from the canner, place it in a bowl, and put the lids in this for about 5 minutes (see my notes below for when I actually completed this step).

There really isn’t too much as far as ingredients go for my raspberry jam.  Basically I needed raspberries, sugar, and pectin.

I first started with 8 cups raw (6 cups smashed) of fresh raspberries.  Yes, you can use frozen (eeeek!) from the grocery store.  Just make sure that they are not frozen with any sort of juice/sugared liquid.  I found that one pint of my fresh raspberries equaled about one cup of smashed!

After smashing the raspberries (I used a potato masher), I let them sit in the bowl while I prepared the pectin mixture.  Now, I was following the recipe directly from the pectin box for raspberry jam (6 cups of smashed raspberries plus 7 cups of sugar along with one full box of pectin — pectin comes in a box that is the same size of jello, FYI).

However (and I should have taken to heart this advice on PYO), I really did need a bit more pectin for the jam to harden to my liking.  The end result did end up being a bit more runny than I am used to (still very jammy and delicious, but I would have preferred it a bit thicker).  So next time I will be adding more pectin!

Now it is time to prepare the pectin mixture.  I added about 1/4 cup of the 7 total cups of sugar to the entire box worth of pectin.  I then added to the pot the smashed raspberries and mixed away.  You will want to bring this mixture up to a FULL boil (on PYO it says it will take 5-10 minutes…..it took my mixture 10 minutes).

Once this mixture is at a full boil, you can then add the remaining 6 3/4 cups of sugar (or whatever amount you have remaining, depending on the pectin you purchased).  Bring this to a boil, again, and boil for one minute.

{while I waited for this new mixture to come to a boil, I put my lids in the bowl of water as mentioned above}

After the mixture has boiled for about a minute, you will want to skim the excess foam from the top.  Ok, this step isn’t 100% necessary, but if you do not do it, you will have jam foam at the top of your jars.  I decided to skim.

If you would like to test the thickness of your jam, now is the time to do it.  Take a spoon (that you had resting in a glass of ice water) and spoon yourself some of the jam.  Let it rest so that it reaches room temperature to see the finished thickness (I kept my jam mixture at a low, simmering boil during this time).

If you are not happy with the thickness, add more pectin and boil for another minute before testing again.  If you are happy with the thickness, remove the mixture from heat and let stand for 5 minutes then stir completely.

Now it is time to fill the jars!  While my mixture was “standing”, I took my jars and rings out of the canner to get them ready to be filled.  Using my funnel, I filled my jars to within a 1/4″ from the top (this funnel, along with a handy jar gripper, came in a canning set I received as a gift from my mom — do not can without these two items!  It would be a miserable process without them).

Put the lids on your jars and put the filled jars into the canner for their water bath (your jars should be covered with about two inches of water when they are in the canner).  Process the jars in this water bath for 10 minutes (I started pulling them out around 7 minutes as the pectin instructions said between 5 and 10 minutes for processing time depending on your altitude).

Let the jars cool and seal.  Your jars will “pop” as they cool….this means they are sealing!

That’s it for this year’s raspberry jam, but I will definitely plan on making more for next year (we have already consumed one of the jars and the leaves on the trees haven’t even changed yet).

One Response

  1. […] strawberries, and raspberries.  I have also used frozen raspberries (that I froze from my Pick Your Own experience this year), but plan on trying apples, grapes, mangoes, or basically whatever is in […]

Leave a Reply

